Reality hit the hippy camp – a true story by Arndt Kremer

'Reality hit the hippy camp', By Arndt Kremer

‘Reality hit the hippy camp’, by Arndt Kremer

What happened when a full-moon party on Malta’s Għajn Tuffieħa beach was ‘interrupted’ by the arrival of a boat of sub-Saharan migrants?

Arndt Kremer, a German writer based in Malta, tells the story in Issue 1 of Le monde n’est pas rond (p. 12-13), with a good dose of humour, and an equally good dose of humanity.

Arndt’s true story links with a number of his recent poems, particularly the one featured below, entitled The colour of distance.

Issue 1 of Le monde n’est pas rond features two paintings by Andalusian artist María Bueno Castellano. If you’d like to see more of her work, have a look at her website.


The colour of distance

                                   for Ahmed, Sudan

I am the distant brother
I am the distant sister
The colour of distance
is strong, is cold, is grey
like cement covering grass

On a trembling boat
I came to you
the water, the water
has eyes that still
are looking back

Behind me the villages are burning
Behind me the images are blazing
My brothers, my sisters
are black, their ashes
lie on my hair

We were thirty fellows
nights ago, days ago
We were twenty fellows
that night when we arrived
without arriving

On your shores
I was lying
marked by hope
and belief

On your stones
I was sitting
fragile, with eloquent silence
to show you my wounds

The way you could recognize me:
a man whose blood is red
like yours

Why do you hold your muzzles
out to me? Your strength?
Why do you close your eyes
in front of me? Your mouths?

Your weighing scales, which you put me on
every day again, again & again
can show nothing more than the load
I mean for you; but I am a weight
beyond all heaviness

Against your fences
whose pattern I already learnt
to copy in my dreams
birds are flying and dying
I’m sticking their feathers
into my hair

I am the closest sister
I am the closest brother
The colour of distance
is neither white nor black
but transparent, but fragile
like glass

You do not have to give us feathers
You do not have to give us love
But give us colours
to paint your walls
your gloomy walls

About antoinecassar

Poet, translator, editor, activist http://antoinecassar.info http://passaportproject.org http://mondepasrond.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality hit the hippy camp – a true story by Arndt Kremer

  1. Pingback: #22 Reality hit the hippy camp / The colour of distance – Arndt Kremer | MHUX F'ISIMNA

Leave a reply / Répondre

